The Modern Superheroes - Software Devs! (Why I wanted to be one)

The Modern Superheroes - Software Devs! (Why I wanted to be one)

Introduction

Superman, Batman, Iron Man, Thor, even the Hulk! There's something very profound about 'saving the world' as depicted in movies that always leaves us inspired on putting in an effort to make the world a better place. But how? How do you save about 10 billion humans, and an entire planet from attack by aliens and other beings in the multiverse without having the ability to fly or advanced tech-gadgets to make elite weapons, or at least a bare minimum of super-human strength? I'll tell you how - Being a software developer.

black-code.jpg

I know, I know - The response was rather an anticlimax. However, this was my mindset the moment I first learnt of programming or software development. I began with basic skills like learning the syntax and loops. I was fascinated by the fact that I was now learning a language that made me speak directly to the computer. It was like magic. If I was to sum it up, my main reasons for wanting to be a software developer are these super-hero traits:

1. To solve problems

solution.jpg

In this day and age, it is quite difficult to imagine day-to-day functionality without some applications that we use often. The developers who came up with the first browsers and search engines were the first I thought of. They enabled easy access to a vast library of information from any place in the world. Was it a valid problem? Definitely. And they solved it right on their computers. Scaling it down: Basic applications like making a to-do list app, or inventory management app for use at home solves challenges with storing large data sets, easy access of data and reduces paperwork. It's no invention of a search engine, but I'm glad that I can use my skills to solve a few challenges here and there.

2. To increase my creativity

creative.jpg

There are 1,000 ways to kill a rat. However, I believe that if you are never faced with rats, you may never know more than way of killing any. Software development is not the easiest of skills. You are presented with errors, bugs, code that does not compile and test cases that are not passed every so often. With each challenge, your debugging skills are greatly improves. I enjoy having the chance to learn new ways of killing the rat each time. Albeit frustrating, at the end of the day, I love the fact that I am able to think on the spot better, and derive solutions in more creative ways - Out of the box.

3. To be part of a super community

community.jpg

Communities are the backbone of most fields. Interacting with like-minded individuals with similar interest is what keeps you going when you feel alone, and challenges you when you feel like you are invincible. The software development community is one of the fastest-growing communities I know of. From forums, events and discussions in the community, I have gotten encouragement, been humbled by the vast knowledge and zeal others posses, been motivated and challenged to do more and give back more, learnt the importance of mentors and mentees, appreciated the work of developers in the world and gain a ton of knowledge and interacted with brilliant minds that I would have otherwise never had a chance to.

Conclusion

Do I wear a cape? No. Do I have a cool weapon and gadget to signal other heroes? Not really. But I have a laptop, the zeal to learn, and an open mind to take on whatever challenge I'll face in my software development life. And you know what, I think that's good enough to make me a superhero.