Teamwork is Making the Dream Work

My Community Experience in the Tech Field

Introduction

If you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, go together.

This African proverb seemed to me, like a few others, just words said by 'the wise' to encourage other people. I never really understood the gravity or truth told by this proverb until I saw it in action in my life.

Experience really is the best teacher it seems (as other wise ones also said).

If I had gone at this tech field alone, I probably would have given up and resort to any other field by now. I have been privileged and lucky to find great spaces to share, grow and learn with as we proceed. Therefore, I found it imperative to share ways in which I accessed such communities and spaces, with the hopes that the information may be of aid to someone else.

1. Go for events

Tech Event

Events are a big deal in the tech world. They are the avenues for the gurus and experts in the field to share with a large number of less experienced and less knowledgeable people in a short period of time. As a beginner, I found tech events very intimidating. In all honesty, I still do at times. However, from the events I have attended, I have learnt that going for them is always more beneficial. As a beginner, in fact, it is more enjoyable since you have the zeal to learn and events are full of people ready to help.

2. Share with friends

Friends

When my friends and I began having meetings for practicing DSA (Data Structures and Algorithms) questions, I was fascinated at how the concepts became easier to grasp. Initially, concepts that would have otherwise taken me a couple of hours to master we now tackled in a matter of minutes. By sharing the content among ourselves, my friends and I were able to find a community to grow in and learn with. If your friends have similar interests as you do and can be interested in learning together, having discussions and study sessions with them is the best idea, having a learning community with the very people you do life with.

3. Social Media

Social Media

Majority of us spend quite some time on social media platforms each day. Ever done an audit to see just how much useful content you consume on the platform, and how much of it is basically wasting time? What if you decided to change those values, and use you social media time on sharing content and learning? Social media has great strengths when utilized for the right purpose. Online platforms have enables forums and discussions be carried out by people all over the world easily at the click of a button. Hence, finding an online community is quite easy, to put your time on social media onto good use.

Conclusion

Growth means different things for different people. However, growth in skills goes hand in hand with interaction and exposure. Share and learn, and in no time you will end up as a guru.